Fail

My attempt to swim the Windermere distance at the weekend was not successful.  I am not especially used to failure, but I am being nice to myself about it.  I gave myself permission to fail.

In retrospect, going for the Windermere distance at the outdoor Jesus Green Pool on a weekend day with perfect, hot, sunny weather wasn’t that clever.  Every man and his wife, and their children, turned up at the pool.  It was one-out, one-in most of the day.  It was an absolute zoo, and even though it is a HUGE pool, and half of it was dedicated to ‘lane swimmers’, every length involved weaving in and out of head-up breaststrokers, back floaters, stoppers for no reason.

Then there was the sun.  I was paranoid about the sun, so at every feed after the first hour I dried my face and shoulders off and applied new sunscreen, which meant I was also very slow.  It was tortuous.

The final straw came when at a turnaround a woman actually landed on me.  Note, not a child being a bit thoughtless, but a fully grown woman.  God I wish I lived closer to the sea.

In the end, after 3 hours and 8 minutes of not very pleasant activity, and having swum a nice round 10,000 metres, I called it a day, went back to the car which by now had a parking ticket on it, and went home for a beer.  The 16.9 km will have to wait for another day, maybe when the weather is crappier, but unbelievably, the long period of lovely UK weather is set to continue……

Weather2

Leave a Reply

