California

This week I am in California.  When not swimming I work for a company that sells DNA sequencers, and they are based in San Diego, as well as a site in the UK.  It’s a great field to work in.  It also gives a clue as to why this blog is called Swimsequence.  Extend it to Swimsequencefamily, and you would have my life in a nutshell right now.

The swimming has been going OK back home.  I logged a comfortable 11.3 km the day before flying out.  3 h 18 at a comfy pace.  The shoulders felt a little stiff afterwards, but on the whole OK.  Other minor symptoms included a slightly sore tummy (possibly all the pushing off), and some ‘windiness’ adding a little propulsion, or not.

I start the weeks in the Bay Area, but do not have time for a swim, but finish the week in La Jolla, San Diego.  By the wonders of Facebook, I am being met by a very kind local Dan Simonelli, who is going to come swimming with me before breakfast on Thursday in La Jolla Cove.  The water temperature is likely to similar to that experienced in the channel in summer (16-17C).

I am really excited, as this will be my first swim of consequence overseas, and in (hopefully) clear water, with a fair chance of seeing some wildlife.  I will also get the chance to try out my new Garmin GPS watch.

I will report back on how it went……

2 thoughts on “California

  1. La Jolla Cove is one of the world’s great Channel swim locations, and, for those of used to the murky Atlantic, one of the most picturesque underwater. Hope it was fun.

Leave a Reply

